Welcome to the SA Transplant Sports Association Website

The Transplant Games Association of South Africa (TGASA) was established in April 1994 by a small group of organ-transplantees, who felt the need for an organization that would promote an active lifestyle and an involvement in various sporting activities to transplant recipients.

These goals have been pursued ever since and a South African Team has been to every World Transplant Games since 1995. In September 2006 the Associations name was changed to South African Transplant Sports Association and a new Constitution adopted.

SATSA is a member of the World Transplant Games Federation and is recognised by the Department of Sport and Recreation in South Africa, is a non-profit organization and are exempt from paying income tax (Fund- raising (NPO) No: 004-595).

SATSA is an Affiliated Member of the South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (SASCOC).

The World Transplant Games (WTG) is held every two years and South Africa has been participating since 1993. In 1997 the Team was, for the first time, awarded South African colours. South Africa , for the first time, participated in the Winter World Transplant Games held in France in January 2010.

The Country is Divided into the Following Recognized Regions:

  • Eastern Cape
  • Free State (under the auspices of the North West region)
  • Gauteng
  • KwaZulu-Natal
  • Mpumalanga (under the auspices of the Gauteng region)
  • Northern Cape (under the auspices of the Western Cape region)
  • North West (under the auspices of the Gauteng Region)
  • Limpopo (under the auspices of the Gauteng region)
  • Western Cape

SATSA Is A non profit organisation representing transplant recipients, donor families (including living donors), Health Care professionals involved in organ donation and transplantation, corporate businesses involved in transplantation and corporate business involved in funding and sponsorships.